The MPN Stem Cell Transplantation Timing Taskforce (MS3T)

Primary objective: Apply current evidence-based findings to more clearly define and communicate the optimal window of opportunity for stem cell transplant in MPNs on the basis of safety and efficacy.

To implement that objective the MS3T has two goals:

Goal 1: Better inform MPN patients on the process, risks, benefits, and optimal timing of stem cell transplant employing clear and graphic elements where possible.

Goal 2: Better inform non-MPN focused hematologists on contemporary thinking in identification of MPN SCT candidates;  provide staged progression guidelines leading to optimal SCT timing; and  share the best methods for having the transplant discussion with MPN patients.

Endpoint: Increase successful SCT outcomes by decreasing the incidence of delayed transplant in MPNs.

The MPN Research Foundation launch announcement to media is here.



Members, MS3T



Dr. Claire Harrison

Professor and Clinical Director, Guy’s and St. Thomas’ Hospital London

Dr. Ruben Mesa

Director, Mays Cancer Center of UT Health San Antonio MD Anderson Cancer Center

Dr. Richard T. Silver

Professor of Medicine, Weill-Cornell 

Richard T Silver MD Myeloproliferative Neoplasms Center

Dr. Srdan Verstovsek

Department of Leukemia, UT MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston

Transplant specialists

Dr. Koen Van Besien

Director, SCT program, Weill-Cornell

Dr. Nicolaus Kroeger

Medical Director, SCT, University Hospital, Hamburg

Dr. Jeanne Palmer

Medical Director, BMT, Mayo Clinic, Phoenix

Dr. Uday Popat

Professor Dept of SCT, MD Anderson


Dr. Attilio Orazi

Professor of Pathology, Director of Hematopathology, Weill-Cornell

Adjunct Advisor

Dr. Wael Saber

Scientific Director, CIBMTR, Associate Professor

Medical College of Wisconsin

MPN SCT Patients

Chris Harper

Beatrice Larroque

Martin Prager

MPN Patient Advocates 

Ann Brazeau

MPN Advocacy and Education, CEO

Ann Haehn

President and Founder, Genny’s Hope Foundation 

Barbara Van Husen

CEO, MPN Research Foundation

Michelle Woerhle

Director, MPN Research Foundation

Project Director

Zhenya Senyak

Editor & Publisher, MPN Quarterly Journal/MPNforum



The MPN Research Foundation